Kieta Jackson-Contemporary Textile Artist Exhibition, Anteros foundation Norwich- November 2018

Whilst attending the Bauhaus lecture I also took full advantage of the exhibitions on in the gallery at Anteros one of which was contemporary textiles in copper, brass and steel by Keita Jackson.

20181124_1305305413687896202248373.jpg
The small Gallery Anteros
20181203_1528544104738808860386171.jpg
Taken from the exhibition advertising but sadly not titled

 

The works varied from papier mache macaque and woven metal sculptures to almost completely two dimensional pictures sculpted in flat metals.

 

 

20181124_1305446629715539023473955.jpg
Close up of one of the sculpted pictures

Keita tells us that a lot of the items in this exhibition have been informed/influenced by archaeological artifacts and I found myself understanding this straight away as I was very strongly reminded of the Lisa and Robert Sainsbury Collection at Sainsbury Centre for Visual arts on UEA campus Norwich. (Fortunate to be within my lunchtime walking distance). The piece Braggadicio reminds me very strongly of the Edgar Degas Little dancer aged fourteen France, 1880-1 / c. 1922 Bronze, fabric. This is because of the shape of the piece which to me looks very much like a ballet costume abut also i think the lines on the waist of the Degas statue and the combination of a bronze casting wearing a fabric tutu. It is the echo of mixed materials and woven fabric.

Kieta-Jackson-Braggadicio-1-2018-kieta-jackson-540x563
Kieta Jackson: Braggadicio 1, 2018, Woven copper wire stitched copper sheet

Largely the metal work exhibits in this show can be loosely described as containers, even to the extent that those reminiscent of clothing are really containers for bodies. I really liked all of the metal work both  two and three dimensional. I love the verdigris of the copper, the shapes and woven elements and found I could not really choose one over the others. My response to these was warm and comfortable with them and found  that to be a lot of the charm of these pieces.Kieta jackson Paper and Car Macaque 2018

Kieta Jackson: Paper Maquette, 2018, Paper and card

To be honest I was not a fan of the macaques. They are OK, tending to remind me of the Open University symbol. It’s all a bit primary school, much as I love papier mache and some of the rusty mark patterns she has achieved on these pieces. I feel after the detail craftsmanship and solidity of the metal work these feel more like prototypes, than finished pieces. I am guessing these are a water test for her and the reactions received will temper how these are followed up on.

Reference

https://www.textileartist.org/kieta-jackson-extraordinary-woven-wire-sculptures

 

Metamorphosis-Nicole Minton and Hannah Hann                                                      Anteros Large Gallery November 2018

Nicole Minton and Hannah Hann work with mixed media, acrylic and collage on canvas.

About

Nicole Minton and Hannah Hann work with mixed media, acrylic and collage on canvas. Together the artists describe their work as uplifting, examining the nature of metamorphosis through the ebb and flow of surface constructs.

The artists experiment with intuitive ways of working and experiment with the formal elements of colour, shape, flatness and stillness.

Nicole studied at Norwich School of Art for her BA Fine Art and NUA for her Postgraduate Diploma. Hannah Studied for her BA in Falmouth and later also studied as NUA.

https://www.artrabbit.com/events/nicole-minton-and-hannah-hann-metamorphis

20181203_1628568179212391132667265.jpg
Genesis 1-4 Cyanotype Nicole Minton

I rather liked these cyanotypes by Nicole Minton Genesis 1 (top left) reminds me a little of  Wassily Kandinsky paintingUntitled (from the portfolio for Walter Gropius on his birthday, 18th May 1924), 1924

Wassily Kandinsky Untitled Bauhaus years

The other 3 cyanotypes seem quite biological almost like microscope slide specimens or diagrams.

Next were mixed media canvas abstracts, the ones by Nicole Minton do not work for me at all. They are pleasant collections of colour I get nothing else from them I am afraid. The canvas Field Study by Hannah Han reminds me of the satellite pictures on Google Earth.

20181203_1641155259847174921660964.jpg
Top left to right- Mantra I, mixed media, Nicole Minton; Field Study, mixed media Hannah Han Bottom left to right- Divergence II, mixed media, Nicole Minton ; Mantra III, mixed media Nicole Minton

 

All in all between the two I found the sculpture show much more enjoyable. It is a strange thing like or taste, for me it is generally visceral and not really changed by external opinion, artist statements or critiques. Feelings towards works can and do change for work (in both directions), mine is an emotional lizard brain reaction. Maybe this will change as I become more educated.

http://hannahhann.com/about/

2 thoughts on “Kieta Jackson-Contemporary Textile Artist Exhibition, Anteros foundation Norwich- November 2018

  1. A lucid and interesting review reflecting your honest opinion and feelings. I liked the cyanotypes and Hannahs landscapes. The sculptures were more interesting and I liked the metalwork.

    Like

  2. I’m really enjoying your blog Sara. Especially as you reference exhibitions and talks I may have attended. It really serves to illuminate the event and extend the pleasure. Thank you. Lynda

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.